Take your time and get your first COF single crystal diffraction structure and a Science

   2019-02-19
   网站管理员
   11
The synthetic polymers ubiquitous in our life, such as nylon, polyester, Teflon, polyethylene, etc., are almost always made of long linear polymer chain structures entangled with each other, much like a tangled mass of spaghetti. In contrast to this more random microstructure, covalent organic framework (COF), with its regular and ordered lattice structure, is a promising polymeric material that has attracted a lot of attention in the last decade or so in the fields of gas adsorption and separation, catalysis, sensing, and energy storage. Compared with the earlier developed metal organic framework (MOF), COF materials have a number of obvious advantages, such as metal-free, more stable, lighter weight and lower cost. At present, although many COF materials have been reported, due to the difficulty of controlling the nucleation and crystal growth process, the final products are basically polycrystalline or amorphous, and few large-size, single-crystalline and stable COF materials have been reported. Since these COF materials with polycrystalline or amorphous structures have shown remarkable performance, people can't help but look forward to the surprises that large-size, single-crystal COF materials will bring!

In two recent papers published back-to-back in Science, two research teams have used different strategies to obtain large-size, high-quality COF single-crystal structures. In this paper, Prof. Wei Wang of Lanzhou University and Prof. Junliang Sun of Peking University, in collaboration with Prof. Omar M. Yaghi of UC Berkeley, the inventor of COF materials, used excess aniline as a nucleation inhibitor and competitive regulator to achieve the first large-size, high-quality single crystal growth and X-ray diffraction (SXRD) of three-dimensional COF based on imine bonds. -ray diffraction (SXRD) structure analysis. Another paper, by Prof. William R. Dichtel's group at Northwestern University, used a "two-step" approach to separate the nucleation and crystallization processes to obtain high-quality borate ester-based single crystals. Today, I will focus on the work of the LANU-PU-UC Berkeley team, and an explanation of the work of Prof. Dichtel's team will be released tomorrow.

Prof. Wei Wang (left), Prof. Junliang Sun (center), and Prof. Omar M. Yaghi (right). Photo credit: Lanzhou University / Peking University / UC Berkeley.


Although the polycrystalline structure of COF has been widely studied, a "more realistic" single-crystal SXRD structure has not been available, which has become a major challenge for researchers in this field. High-quality single-crystal growth requires dynamic covalent bond formation and breakage, i.e., reversibility of bonding. The authors argue that the main reason why previous COF structures are prone to amorphous materials or very small nanocrystals and polycrystals is that the bonding is too fast. If the bonding speed is slow enough, it is expected to increase the reversibility and the defects in the growth of COF crystals will have a chance to be "self-corrected", resulting in large size and high-quality single crystals. So how can bonding speed be controlled?
 
The third generation COFs use imine bonds to link two ligands (typically polyamines and polyalkaldehydes), and the authors envision a clever "imine exchange" strategy to control the reaction rate. Specifically, an excess of aniline is added to the polyamine and polyaldehyde ligands as a competitive modulator and nucleation inhibitor. Aniline is comparable in reactivity to the COF ligand polyamine and contains only one amino group, which competes with the polyamine ligand; in addition, the imine bond is more susceptible to nucleophilic attack by amines rather than water (Figure A below). Therefore, the addition of excess aniline is theoretically promising to increase the reversibility of imine bond formation, improve the self-correction process of crystal defects, and ultimately optimize crystallization. The experimental results confirmed their vision, and they obtained a variety of large-size, high-quality single crystals of COF materials based on imine bonds, including COF-300, COF-303, LZU-79 and LZU-111 (Figure B below), with single crystal sizes ranging from 10-100 μm and optical microscopy to identify their crystalline states. Moreover, the crystal size can be controlled by adjusting the amount of aniline added; in the case of COF-300, for example, different amounts of aniline added can yield COF-300 single crystals in the range of 10-60 μm.


Aniline regulates the single crystal growth of COF materials based on imine bonds. Image source: Science

In the case of COF-300, the ligand used is tetrakis(4-aminophenyl) methane (TAM) with terephthalaldehyde (BDA). In the previous synthesis method without the addition of aniline, only polycrystals of about 500 microns were obtained (Figure B, first row, far left, above). With the addition of excess aniline, high quality COF-300 single crystals of up to 100 µm were obtained after 30-40 days of "slow" growth. With the high-quality single crystals in hand, the authors obtained the single crystal structure of this COF material at 0.85 Å resolution by SXRD (Figure A below). Exposing COF-300 to water, the water-absorbed material structure was further distorted with one-dimensional chain-like water clusters within the pore channels of its crystal structure. The distortion of the pore channels is thought to be related to the hydrogen bonding between the imine group and the guest molecular water (Figure B/C below).

SXRD structures of COF-300 and COF-300 containing guest molecular water. Image source: Science

When interchanging the amino and aldehyde groups in the COF-300 ligand, a similar structure COF-303 can be obtained (Figure A below). Since COF-303 has the same topology, space group and seven-fold interpolation as COF-300, the conventional powder diffraction technique simply cannot distinguish COF-300 from COF-303, while the single-crystal-based SXRD technique can. When the two crystal structures of COF-300 and COF-303 are overlapped together, the difference in the distortion angle of the imine bond can be clearly discerned (Figure B below).

The SXRD structure of COF-303 and the overlapping structure map with COF-303. Image source: Science

To verify the universality of this strategy, the authors synthesized a new chiral COF, LZU-111, which consists of two tetrahedral-type ligands TAM and tetra(4-formylphenyl) silane (TFS) to form a three-dimensional structure. Excess aniline was added during the synthesis, and the final LZU-111 single crystal was a hexagonal prismatic single crystal of approximately 60 μm (Figure A below). To improve the resolution, the authors used a synchrotron light source for SXRD, which increased the resolution to 1.2 Å. Nitrogen adsorption experiments showed that LZU-111 has a high specific surface area of 2120 m2 g-1 and a pore volume of 0.918 cm3 g-1, which is generally consistent with the theoretical predictions based on the SXRD model (Figure B below). Finally, the authors also characterized its chemical shifts by solid-state NMR (Figure C below).

SXRD structure and characterization of LZU-111. Image source: Science

慢慢来,就能拿到首个COF单晶衍射结构和一篇Science

   2019-02-19
   网站管理员
   154
在我们的生活中无处不在的合成聚合物,例如尼龙、聚酯、特氟隆、聚乙烯等等,几乎都是由长的线性聚合物链结构相互纠缠而成,很像是一团缠在一起的面条。与这种比较随意的微观结构相比,共价有机框架(covalent organic framework,COF)具有规整有序的网格结构,是一种很有前途的聚合物材料,近十几年在气体吸附和分离、催化、传感以及能量存储等领域引起了广泛的关注。相比于更早开发出来的金属有机框架(metal organic framework,MOF),COF材料有不少明显的优势,例如不含金属、更加稳定、重量更轻以及成本更低等。目前,虽然有不少COF材料已见诸报道,但是由于很难控制成核和晶体生长过程,基本最终得到的都是多晶或非晶产物,大尺寸、单晶态且稳定的COF材料鲜有报道。由于目前这些多晶或非晶结构的COF材料已经展现出了不俗的性能,人们不禁向往大尺寸、单晶态的COF材料会带来什么样的惊喜!

最近,Science 杂志以“背靠背”的形式发表了两篇论文,两个科研团队以不同的策略分别获得了大尺寸、高质量的COF单晶结构。其中,兰州大学王为教授、北京大学孙俊良教授与COF材料发明者(点击阅读相关)、加州大学伯克利分校(UC Berkeley)的Omar M. Yaghi教授合作,采用过量苯胺作为成核抑制剂和竞争性调节剂,首次实现了基于亚胺键的三维COF大尺寸、高质量单晶的生长和X-射线衍射(SXRD)结构解析。该文共同第一作者为兰州大学的马天琼博士和UC Berkeley的博士生Eugene A. Kapustin。另外一篇论文,来自美国西北大学的William R. Dichtel教授团队,他们使用“两步法”分开成核与结晶过程,最终得到高质量的基于硼酸酯的二维单晶COF。今天笔者着重介绍兰大-北大-UC Berkeley团队的工作,对Dichtel教授团队工作的解读将于明日推出,敬请关注。
王为教授(左)、孙俊良教授(中)、Omar M. Yaghi教授(右)。图片来源:兰州大学 / 北京大学 / UC Berkeley

虽然COF的多晶结构被广泛研究,但其“更真实”的单晶SXRD结构始终无法获得,这也成了相关领域研究者面前的一大难题。高质量的单晶生长要求动态的共价键形成与断裂,即成键的可逆性(reversibility),作者认为,以往的COF结构容易得到非晶态材料或者很小的纳米晶体和多晶,主要原因就是成键太快。如果成键速度足够慢,就有望增加可逆性,COF晶体生长过程中的缺陷也就有机会被“自我纠正”,从而得到大尺寸、高质量的单晶。那么如何控制成键速度呢?

第三代COF使用亚胺键连接两个配体(一般选择多元胺和多元醛),作者设想采用巧妙的“亚胺交换”策略来控制反应速度。具体来说,就是在多元胺和多元醛配体中加入过量的苯胺作为竞争性调节剂和成核抑制剂。苯胺与COF配体多元胺的反应性相当,仅含有一个氨基,会与多元胺配体竞争;此外,亚胺键更易受胺类而非水的亲核攻击(下图A)。因此,加入过量苯胺理论上有希望增加亚胺键形成的可逆性,改善晶体缺陷的自我纠正过程,最终优化结晶。实验结果证实了他们的设想,他们得到了多种基于亚胺键的COF材料的大尺寸、高质量单晶,包括COF-300、COF-303、LZU-79和LZU-111(下图B),单晶尺寸在10-100微米之间,光学显微镜也能够辨识它们的晶态。而且,晶体尺寸可以通过调节苯胺的加入量进行控制,以COF-300为例,不同的苯胺的加入量可以得到10-60微米的COF-300单晶。
苯胺调节基于亚胺键的COF材料的单晶生长。图片来源:Science

以COF-300为例,使用的配体是四(4-氨基苯基)甲烷(TAM)与对苯二甲醛(BDA)。在以前不加苯胺的合成方法下,只能得到约500微米的多晶(上图B,第一行左一)。加入过量苯胺之后,经过30-40天的“慢”生长,就可以得到最大100微米的高质量COF-300单晶。拿到了高质量单晶,作者通过SXRD技术获得这种COF材料0.85 Å分辨率的单晶结构(下图A)。把COF-300曝露在水中,吸水后的材料结构进一步扭曲,其晶体结构孔道内具有一维链状水簇。孔道的扭曲被认为和亚胺基团与客体分子水之间的氢键作用有关(下图B/C)。
COF-300及包含客体分子水的COF-300的SXRD结构。图片来源:Science

当把COF-300配体中氨基和醛基互换,可以得到类似的结构COF-303(下图A)。由于COF-303跟COF-300具有相同拓扑结构、空间群和七重穿插,传统的粉末衍射技术根本无法区分COF-300和COF-303,而基于单晶的SXRD技术就可以。把COF-300和COF-303两个晶体结构重叠在一起时,可以清晰地辨别亚胺键扭曲角的差别(下图B)。
COF-303的SXRD结构以及与COF-303的结构重叠图。图片来源:Science

为了验证这一策略的普适性,作者合成了一个新的手性COF——LZU-111。LZU-111由两个四面体型配体TAM和四(4-醛基苯基)硅烷(TFS)构成三维结构。在合成时加入过量苯胺,最终得到的LZU-111单晶是大约60微米的六方棱柱状单晶(下图A)。为提高分辨率,作者使用了同步辐射光源进行SXRD,将其分辨率提高到1.2 Å。氮气吸附实验表明,LZU-111具有较高的比表面积2120 m2 g-1和孔体积0.918 cm3 g-1,这与基于SXRD模型的理论预测基本相符(下图B)。最后,作者还用固态核磁表征了其化学位移(下图C)。
LZU-111的SXRD结构及表征。图片来源:Science